The Code: Continued

Although we refer to ‘the’ Civil Service Code, the Constitutional Reform and Governance Act 2010 actually provides for up to four Codes, to take account of devolution and the different arrangements that apply to the Diplomatic Service.
All Codes made under the 2010 Act must reflect the core Civil Service values – Honesty, Integrity, Objectivity and Impartiality.
Links to the Codes, published by the Government, are provided below. Please note that some of the Codes set out below contain some out of date contact details for the Commission. Please refer to our website to contact us.
Civil Servants serving in UK Government Departments (excluding the Diplomatic Service) are bound by the Civil Service Code.

There are separate codes for:

The Northern Ireland Civil Service is not regulated by the Civil Service Commission but by a separate set of Commissioners for Northern Ireland.
If you are concerned that there may have been a breach of the Civil Service Code, please refer to our guidance on how to bring a complaint to the Commission (PDF, 8 pages, 141KB).
HM Government logo