Civil Service Commissioners

We are appointed by His Majesty the King on the recommendation of the Minister for the Civil Service.
We are recruited on merit following public advertisement and a fair and open selection competition. From our different careers and interests, we bring experience of public, private and voluntary sectors and a clear and independent perspective. This helps us to support a Civil Service that is effective, politically impartial, and that builds upon its core values to meet the challenges of today and of tomorrow.

Our Code of Practice (PDF, 5 pages, 161KB) sets out the standards of conduct we observe. We record our private interests which might influence our judgement, or which could be perceived to do so, in a Register of Interests (PDF, 6 pages).

There are currently 14 Commissioners.
Read the biographies of the Commissioners
Rt Hon Baroness Gisela Stuart of Edgbaston
Rt Hon Baroness 
Gisela Stuart of 
Joe Montgomery
Sarah Pittam
Joe Montgomery
Martin Spencer
Joe Montgomery
Paul Gray
Joe Montgomery
Paul Kernaghan
Joanna Abeyie MBE
Lea Paterson CBE
Atul Devani
Stephen Cohen
Liz Walmsley
Chris Pilgrim
Elizabeth Hambley
Tony Poulter OBE
Neil Wooding CBE
HM Government logo