Civil Service Commission

The Code

Although we refer to ‘the’ Civil Service Code, the Constitutional Reform and Governance Act 2010 actually provides for up to four Codes, to take account of devolution and the different arrangements that apply to the Diplomatic Service.

All Codes made under the 2010 Act must reflect the core Civil Service values – Honesty, Integrity, Objectivity and Impartiality.

Links to the Codes, published by the Government, are provided below.  Please note that some of the contact details for the Commission are out of date.  Please refer to our website to contact us.

This code applies only to all those serving UK Government Departments (except those in the Diplomatic Service.

This Code applies to civil servants working in the Welsh Government.

This Code applies to civil servants working in the Scottish Government.

This Code applies to civil servants working in the Diplomatic Service.

The Northern Ireland Civil Service is not regulated by the Civil Service Commission but by a separate set of  Civil Service Commissioners for Northern Ireland

Please refer to our guidance on how to bring a complaint to the Commission if you are concerned that there may have been a breach of the Civil Service Code.