Civil Service Commission

Civil Service Commissioners

We are appointed by Her Majesty the Queen on the recommendation of the Minister for the Civil Service.
We are recruited on merit following public advertisement and a fair and open selection competition. From our different careers and interests, we bring experience of the public, private and voluntary sectors and a clear and independent perspective. This helps us to support a Civil Service that is effective, politically impartial, and that builds upon its core values to meet the challenges of today and of tomorrow.

There are currently 10 Commissioners.

First Civil Service Commissioner
Sir David Normington GCB

Jonathan Baume
Kathryn Bishop
Adele Biss
Peter Blausten
Andrew Flanagan
Dame Moira Gibb
Wanda Goldwag
Eliza Hermann
Angela Sarkis

Read the biographies of the Commissioners

Our Code of Practice sets out the standards of conduct we observe. We record our private interests which might influence our judgement, or which could be perceived to do so, in a Register of Interests